Systematic reviews and meta-analyses

Systematic reviews are appraisals and synthesis of primary research using a rigorous and clearly documented methodology.

A systematic review may optionally contain a meta-analysis.  Meta-analysis describes a series of statistical techniques for combining the results of several studies in order to derive a pooled or meta-estimate of relative risk, at the same time exploring why different studies might be producing differing estimates of relative risk.

Systematic reviews synthesise evidence of health risks for policy-makers, practitioners, and scientists and go right to the heart of evidence-based policy and practice since they should be objective assessments of the totality of the evidence on a topic.

Our work in this areas spans a wide range of public, occupational, and environmental health topics.  Recent examples include:

  • Shift work and cancer
  • Trauma and cancer
  • Return to work after cancer
We employ research scientists who are world-recognised leaders in their field and so we are ideally placed to summarise the totality of evidence on a wide range of public, occupational and environmental health topics. 

Sponsors we have worked for 

  • IOSH
  • Worksafe British Columbia 
  • IOMworld Posted: 2 days ago
    Join us at Healthcare Estates Conference, Manchester Central, on 4 & 5 October 2022. Register for your free visitor… https://t.co/ymyxuoaHzJ
  • IOMworld Posted: 2 days ago
    As the Safety, Health & Wellbeing Live conference has now come to an end, we wish to thank everyone for visiting ou… https://t.co/xHmpuiDNK8
  • IOMworld Posted: 3 days ago
    IOM's Nathan Baker and David Flower talking today at @SHWLive where they are sharing their insights on ‘What long t… https://t.co/UzTL5SAziu
  • IOMworld Posted: 3 days ago
    Day 2 of the Safety, Health & Wellbeing Live conference is well underway. Come and visit our live wall at stand 120… https://t.co/2TJuf3yCtt
  • IOMworld Posted: 4 days ago
    The @SHWLive event in now underway at Farnborough International Exhibition & Conference Centre. Come and visit us a… https://t.co/BWcN9margL
  • IOMworld Posted: 10 days ago
    Today! IOM’s Miranda Loh will be speaking at the Understanding Air Quality for Health in Different Environments eve… https://t.co/tfN8IYgHQb
  • IOMworld Posted: 11 days ago
    Join us at the @SHWLive event, Farnborough International, on 28 & 29 September 2022. Register for your free ticket… https://t.co/jb7dFHMt9v
  • IOMworld Posted: 17 days ago
    We are delighted that IOM'S Miranda Loh will be speaking at the @BreathingCity event on Understanding Air Quality f… https://t.co/qo5yv7Tcar
  • IOMworld Posted: 18 days ago
    The Safety in Construction show is now in full swing at Holywell Park Conference Centre, Loughborough. Come & visit… https://t.co/Q43O0EzEhe
  • IOMworld Posted: 18 days ago
    Today! Join IOM’s Miranda Loh at 12:45 in the Presentation Theatre at the Safety in Construction show where she wil… https://t.co/qgne19yG7W